"Property Rights" WINIR Symposium, Bristol UK, April 4-6

Second WINIR Symposium

4-6 April 2016

University of Bristol, Bristol, UK


Download the call for papers



Property rights are a central institutional feature of all politico-economic systems where markets play a major role, and a key item of political controversy between liberal and socialist positions. The role of property rights in matters ranging frominterpersonal exchangepower and innovation to corporate governance, privatisation and economic development is debated across several academic disciplines, including economics, history, law, philosophy, politics and sociology. The growing importance of intellectual and other intangible property in modern capitalism has further provoked important ongoing theoretical and policy discussions, part of which revolve around the very meaning of property as opposed to possession.

Bringing together internationally leading institutional researchers from several disciplines, the WINIR Symposium on Property Rights, hosted by Bristol University's Faculty of Social Sciences and Law, will address these and other related issues.

The Symposium will open in the afternoon of Monday 4 April and end in the afternoon of Wednesday 6 April. 

Keynotes lectures, representing three academic disciplines, will be given by:

Benito Arruñada (Pompeu Fabra University, economics)
Gunnar Heinsohn (University of Bremen, sociology)
Larissa Katz (University of Toronto, law)


Abstract submissions from any discipline are welcome.

Submissions will be evaluated by the WINIR Scientific Quality Committee, currently composed of: Peter Boettke (George Mason University, economics), Simon Deakin (University of Cambridge, law), Geoff Hodgson (University of Hertfordshire, economics), Timur Kuran (Duke University, economics), Uskali Mäki (University of Helsinki, philosophy), Katharina Pistor(Columbia University, law), Sven Steinmo (European University Institute, politics), Wolfgang Streeck (Max Planck Institute Cologne, sociology).

In accordance with WINIR policy, all symposium participants must be members of WINIR.

Please note the following important dates:

31 Dec 2015 Abstract submission deadline 14 Mar 2016 Registration deadline for accepted authors
21 Jan 2016 Notification of acceptance 15 Mar 2016 Non-registered authors removed from programme
22 Jan 2016 Registration opens 31 Mar 2016 Registration deadline for non-presenters
15 Feb 2016 Early registration deadline 1 Apr 2016 Full paper submission deadline

Organising committee: Francesca Gagliardi (f.gagliardi@herts.ac.uk), David Gindis (d.gindis@herts.ac.uk), Jeremy Green (jeremy.green@bristol.ac.uk), Tilman Hartley (tilman.hartley@bristol.ac.uk), Geoff Hodgson(g.m.hodgson@herts.ac.uk), Paddy Ireland (paddy.ireland@bristol.ac.uk) and Gregory Schwartz(gregory.schwartz@bristol.ac.uk).